TC Achievement Award Winners - Oct

October Recipients

Congratulations to Taylor County School District’s Achievement Award Winners for October! The four recipients were recognized at the October Board Meeting on October 8, 2018.


The categories for the TC Achievement Award include TC Leadership (Leadership, Innovation, Team Leader, Project Leader), TC Cares (Service, Kindness, Giving of Time and Talents, Philanthropy), TC Pride (Achievement in the Classroom and Extracurriculars, Teamwork, Work Ethic), and TC Partnership (Community Partnerships, Parent Involvement).


Jayne Litton, Taylor County Intermediate School 5th grade teacher, was the recipient of the TC Leadership Award. Mrs. Litton was nominated by both TCIS Principal, Mrs. Donna Williams and fellow TCIS teacher, Mrs. Susie Hash. Mrs. Williams says that “Jayne Litton is deserving of the TC Leadership Award for many reasons. First, she is a leader in our school. She leads our math department. When she finds valuable resources or professional learning materials she is quick to share this with other teachers. She is always looking for ways to improve herself, as well as our school. She has participated in the CU Math Grant and has brought this information back to others. She serves as president of our TCIS PTA and has worked to get parents and students involved in celebrating our students' successes. She has spearheaded our past two KPREP celebrations to get our students excited about the state assessment and fired up to do their best. She has also organized the KPREP recognition ceremonies to reward those students who met their proficiency goals each year. She is someone who is always willing to do whatever it takes to meet the needs of our students.” And Mrs. Hash says that Mrs. Litton “is a shining star at Taylor County Intermediate School. She is a fantastic teacher who uses her authentic excitement and innovation to reach reluctant students, challenges advanced learners, and provides a welcoming, fun environment for all. Mrs. Litton is also a leader among her peers. She shares her knowledge with fellow-teachers inspiring others to try new methods and get excited about reaching kids. Her most valuable trait is how she loves children. EVERY child who enters her classroom feels valued, loved, and able to learn. Mrs. Jayne Litton is one of the reasons TCIS is a top-notch school!”

Jayne Litton


Megan Hatcher, Taylor County Occupational Therapist, was the recipient of the TC Cares Award. Mrs. Hatcher was nominated by Taylor County High School Family and Consumer Science Teacher, Mrs. Joanna Williams. Mrs. Williams says that Mrs. Hatcher “initiated  a partnership with Fancy That Boutique that involves allowing her students to operate a mobile Fancy That Boutique at the hub of our elementary schools bi-monthly. The first event happened on August 30th and was a great success!  Megan took four of her students, accompanied by three high school education pathway students to work the event. The staff members enjoyed the opportunity to buy school apparel at a convenient location, the students gained valuable academic and social skills, and the event was profitable for Fancy That, where 100% of revenue supports student learning and leadership development. This partnership will continue throughout the school year. I commend Megan for her innovative thinking in providing an authentic learning experience for her students which benefits many others as well!”

Megan Hather


Janet Peake, Taylor County Primary Center Clerical Office Assistant, was the recipient of the TC Pride Award and was nominated by Taylor County School District Technician Allen Gumm. Mr. Gumm says that Mrs. Peake “excels at taking care of the bus issues in the afternoon. She can have 3 phone calls going on while juggling four bus issues but she finds a way to keep it all organized and taken care of in a timely fashion. She also stays until every student is picked up safely by a guardian. It’s worth going to her office one afternoon and watch the work she puts in everyday to make sure everyone is delivered safely to the correct location."

Janet Peake

Maulikkmar Patel, owner of Dunkin Donuts in Campbellsville, was the recipient of the TC Partnership Award. Mr. Patel was nominated by TCPC teacher, Melissa Collison. Mrs. Collison says “I had Mr. Patel's daughter last year in kindergarten and his business, Dunkin Donuts, was so supportive of everything going on in my room and school. He provided donuts, muffins, gift cards, and extra help for classroom supplies. He also supports the school as a whole by treating our "Teacher of the Week" with a gift certificate. He goes above and beyond with community support.”

Mr. Patel


Taylor County School District would like to congratulate these four individuals and thank them for their dedication to our students, schools, and community.


The district encourages all of our students, staff, and parents to nominate those people who are making a different within our district. Nomination forms can be found on the district webpage and all four school webpages under Quick Links - TC Achievement Award Nomination.


Back to School News      Print News Article