TC Achievement Award Winners - November

November Recipients

Congratulations to Taylor County School District’s Achievement Award Winners for November! The four recipients were recognized at the November Board Meeting on Monday, November 12, 2018.

The categories for the TC Achievement Award include TC Leadership (Leadership, Innovation, Team Leader, Project Leader), TC Cares (Service, Kindness, Giving of Time and Talents, Philanthropy), TC Pride (Achievement in the Classroom and Extracurriculars, Teamwork, Work Ethic), and TC Partnership (Community Partnerships, Parent Involvement).

TC Leadership: Brandy McCubbin

Brandy McCubbin, Taylor County Primary Center preschool teacher, was the recipient of the TC Leadership Award. Mrs. McCubbin was nominated by TCPC Principal, Mrs. Long. Mrs. McCubbin was nominated not only for her dedication and passion as a teacher, but for the many creative ventures she organizes for the primary center. Mrs. McCubbin organized Preschool Palooza, one of the largest community events in the history of Taylor County, Kindergarten Readiness Camp, which helped raise TCPC’s Brigance (kindergarten readiness) scores to an all time high, and the recent PTA Fall Festival. The Fall Festival alone raised $24,000 for the school!! Mrs. Long says that Mrs. McCubbin “looks for innovative ways to encourage and reach families. She is a hidden gem within our school.”

Brandy McCubbin


TC Cares: Stephen Zink

Stephen Zink, Taylor County High School ECE Teacher and TCHS Head Volleyball Coach, was the recipient of the TC Cares Award. Coach Zink was nominated by several staff members at the Central Office. Coach Zink has organized two successful events for TCHS graduate Mattie Bunn, who was diagnosed with Leukemia her senior year. His most recent event, Spike Leukemia, raised over $3,000 to go towards medical expenses for Mattie’s family and gained attention from news stations in both Bowling Green and Louisville. Coach Zink goes above and beyond for his players to be recognized for their accomplishments and truly cares for their individual successes. He also has a heart for students with special needs and works with them daily in the classroom.

Stephen Zink


TC Pride: G.C. Parker

G.C. Parker, Taylor County Cross Country and Track Coach, was the recipient of the TC Pride Award and was nominated by Taylor County parent Shellie Kendall. Coach Parker has dedicated 40+ years to Taylor County Schools as a student, athlete, teacher, and coach. Ms. Kendall says that Coach Parker is “fair, honest, reliable, and humble. He wants no personal recognition, but I believe a man with this kind of longevity, who has spent this much time working with and positively influencing the youth of our community deserves to be honored in a special way. Without Coach G.C. Parker, our growing cross country and track programs would not be what they’ve become - something to be proud of.”

G.C. Parker


TC Partnership: Michael Rodeberg and Murakami Manufacturing

Michael Rodenberg with Murakami Manufacturing USA, was the recipient of the TC Partnership Award. Murakami Manufacturing recently hosted a Community Partner Engagement Session and Luncheon with Taylor County Schools, in addition to various donations to the school district throughout the past several years.

Michael Rodenberg


Taylor County School District would like to congratulate these four individuals and thank them for their dedication to our students, schools, and community.


The district encourages all of our students, staff, and parents to nominate those people who are making a difference within our district. Nomination forms can be found on the district webpage and all four school webpages under Quick Links - TC Achievement Award Nomination.


Back to School News      Print News Article