Skip To Main Content

News and Articles

Date Range

This award comes with a $1,000 grant and statewide recognition at the KCSS Safe Schools and Communities Conference.

Our program was selected out of all of the SRO programs in Kentucky for its commitment to student safety and for the caring, active mentoring role our officers play in the lives of our students and community. Superintendent Higdon and Police Chief Underwood accepted the award from Director of the Center for School Safety John Akers and KYASRO Representative Bill Rudie. State Representative Max Wise was also present to commend the work of our Taylor County SROs.

We are truly blessed to have these officers serving and protecting our students each day!

Expect greatness from Taylor County Schools!


ANYONE, age birth through 18 years old, is eligible to participate!

The Summer Feeding Program will take place every Tuesday, beginning May 28th, from 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM, behind Taylor County Middle School in a drive-through style.

EACH child will receive seven meals for breakfast AND seven meals for lunch!!

The last day of the program will be Tuesday, July 30.

If you have any questions, please contact our Food Service Department.



Claire Coyle (alternate)

Riley Sprowles

Tristan Parish

Lily Neal

Samantha Hesson

Samuel "Caden" Williams

Hope Hansford (alternate)

​​The Governor’s Scholars Program is a summer residential program for outstanding rising high school seniors in Kentucky. Selection for the program is highly competitive and the mission of GSP is to enhance Kentucky’s next generation of civic and economic leaders.

Expect greatness from Taylor County High School!


Letters regarding the Federal Communications Commission's (FCC) Affordable Connectivity Program (ACP) will be sent home this week with students.

Please refer to the letter for more information! To apply, you can fill out an application online, by mail, or through a participating service provider. You will need to submit a copy of the letter to verify so please don't throw it away!

Cayla Rucker poses for a photo with her achievement award.

Cayla Rucker, one-on-one assistant at Taylor County Primary Center, is a recipient of the TC Cares Award. Each day, she is the eyes and ears for disabled students, allowing them to participate in class. “Miss Cayla is one of our quiet, unsung heroes at the primary center,” TCPC Principal Melissa Long said. “She has a very difficult job, but she never complains. When I ask for her help, she does it gracefully and she does it well.”

Donna Williams and other TC principals pose for a photo with her achievement award.

Donna Williams, principal at Taylor County Intermediate School, is a recipient of the TC Leadership Award. Mrs. Williams has been a pillar of the school district in her role as principal, and will be retiring at the end of this school year.
“When I became principal at the middle school, Donna was a huge confidant. She was someone I could lean on, and I knew I could always call her and get great advice that would set me off in the right direction. She has impacted many lives during her time with the school district, including my own,” TCHS Principal Sara Tucker said.
“For the last 10 years, Donna has been my mentor. The day she was hired I was in the hospital giving birth, and she asked to come visit me. We’ve been best friends ever since,” TCPC Principal Melissa Long said.
“You can’t replace Donna Williams, you just don’t. We just hope that you’ve rubbed off and created through your work more people like you,” TCMS Principal Neil Sanders said. “I’ve known Mrs. Williams for a long time, going all the way back to elementary school, and I still remember my mom, who worked at the middle school, at 7:30 p.m. working on lesson plans with her. I’ll never forget it, her level of commitment is just unparalleled, and she brought that into her principalship to do a remarkable job for over a decade. It’s something to be proud of, and we’re going to miss you.”
“This district has an amazing group of principals, and these three have been wonderful to work with,” Mrs. Williams said. “I was blessed to teach with kids for 18 years and I’ve been principal for 11, and have an amazing school with amazing staff and amazing kids. I’ve just been blessed, so blessed, and I thank the Lord all the time for putting me in this position. I had long thought I would stay in the classroom until I retired, but He had other plans. Retiring is very bittersweet, but my time here has been wonderful.”